



NO WEDDING APPOINTMENTS NESESSARY 🧳



If you are planning a wedding ceremony at the courthouse, we have news for you! Wedding ceremonies no longer require an appointment. All ceremonies are on a first come first served basis. Ceremonies are held Monday thru Thursday from 2:30 p.m. to 4:00 p.m. On Fridays ceremonies are held from 1:30 p.m. to 4:00 p.m. ALSO, there are now two locations that you can choose from to have your ceremony. You can either go to the Judicial Center located at 37W777 Rte. 38, St. Charles, IL **OR** you can go to the Old Courthouse located at 100 S. Third St. in Geneva, IL. Ceremony times are the same at both locations. More information will be provided to you when you apply in our office for your marriage license. You must apply for your marriage license at least one day before you go to the courthouse. Both parties must be present at the time of application with valid photo IDs, \$32.00 in cash, and you must be getting married in Kane County within 60 days. If you have any questions, please call our office and we will be happy to assist you at 630-232-5950.

2016 Statement of Economic Interests Filing time will be here before you know it! Emails have been sent to the unit of government contacts from last year to verify contact information. Once all units of government have reported and updated their information, starting around Jan. 2nd, a notification will be sent to the unit contact to begin their online list submission of those required to file for the 2016 filing year.

Filing an Assumed Name Certificate

Who must file?

Illinois law requires that individuals conducting or transacting a business under any name other than the real names of the owners must file an **Assumed Name Certificate** with the County Clerk in the county in which the business is located. If the business will be incorporated, a corporation, or an LLC, file with the Illinois Secretary of State (217-782-7880), not the County Clerk. For retail tax information, call 217-524-4772.

What is the procedure?

- The <u>Assumed Name Certificate</u> must be completed with the name and physical street address (not P.O. Box) of the business, the type of product or service you're offering, and the names and home addresses of all owners/partners in the business. All business owners/partners must sign the form in front of a Notary Public (We have notaries available for a \$1.00 fee). The business owner then files in the County Clerk's office along with a \$10.00 filing fee. At that time the Assumed Name Publication Notice paperwork will be issued to the business owner.
- 1. The Assumed Name Publication Notice must be taken to a general circulation Kane County newspaper where the Publication Notice is published once a week for three consecutive weeks. The first of the three notices must be published within 15 days of the initial filing of the Assumed Name Certificate.
- 2. After publishing, the newspaper completes the Publisher's Certificate and attaches a tear-sheet of the notice. The Publisher's Certificate must be received in the County Clerk's office in order for the filing requirements to be complete. It is the responsibility of the business owner to be sure the Publisher's Certificate is returned to the County Clerk's office within 50 days from the date of filing.
- 3. After receipt of the Publisher's Certificate, the business owner will be given a Certificate of Ownership of Business. This will have completed all of the Assumed Name filing requirements.

TAXING DISTRICTS

District **LEVIES** must be filed on or before the last Tuesday of December with the Kane County Clerk's Office. Accompanying the levy must be a Certificate of Levy and a Truth in Taxation Certificate. All documents must have original signatures, notarized or sealed with the districts' seal. Failure to do so could mean a loss of tax dollars.

New Bond deadline is March 1, 2016 and Bond Abatements can be filed with the County Clerk on or before March 15, 2016.

PASSPORTS TAKING

4 TO 6 WEEKS

Don't wait until the last minute. Are you traveling outside the United States for spring break? A passport is required if you are traveling outside the United States. You can apply for a passport at the Kane County Clerk's office. Average turn around time for a passport is 4 to 6 weeks. You may expedite for an extra charge bringing the turn around time to 3 weeks.

"UP FRONT", a bi-monthly newsletter will be posted on the Kane County Clerk's website. If you prefer to receive newsletter via e mail, please contact Susan at: ericsonsusan@co.kane.il.us

IDENTIFICATION REQUIREMENTS

BIRTH CERTIFICATES

One form of ID is required if submitting one of the following IDs:

- State drivers license
- State issued identification
- U.S. passport or foreign passport (Must be readable, must have issue and expiration dates.)
- U.S. Armed Forces identification card
- Matricula Consular
- Permanent Resident Card
 - OR -

Three of these forms of ID are required - at least one with your signature and at least two with your current name and address:

- Voter registration card (issued within past 90 days)
- W-2 form (most recent tax year)
- Bank statement (issued within past 90 days)
- Utility bill (issued within past 60 days)
- Vehicle registration card
- Life insurance policy (at least 1 year old)
- Check book or savings book
- Traffic ticket (prior to court hearing)
- School identification card with photo
- V.A. (Veterans Affairs) medical card
- U.S. issued consulate identification card

PASSPORTS

- 1. **Proof of U.S. citizenship**, such as your previous U.S. passport, or: Birth Certificates for passport application(s), NOTE: Birth Certs. must have parent(s) information on them, or: Certificate of Naturalization.
- 2. **Proof of identity**—You may submit your previous U.S. passport, Certificate of Naturalization, driver's license (not a learner's permit or temporary license), military ID, or government identification card.
- 3. *Your U.S. Passport or Certificate of Naturalization <u>cannot</u> be used for <u>both</u> proof of citizenship and proof of identity.
- 4. **Social Security Number** Applicant "must provide your Social Security Number in accordance with 26 U.S.C. 6039E.

DEATH CERTIFICATES

To obtain, you must show proof of relationship to the deceased or a legal need for the record. In addition please provide: One form of ID is required if submitting one of the following IDs:

- State drivers license
- State issued identification
- U.S. passport or foreign passport (Must be readable, must have issue and expiration dates.)
- U.S. Armed Forces identification card
- Matricula Consular
- Permanent Resident Card
 - OR -

Three of these forms of ID are required - at least one with your signature and at least two with your current name and address:

- Voter registration card (issued within past 90 days)
- W-2 form (most recent tax year)
- Bank statement (issued within past 90 days)
- Utility bill (issued within past 60 days)
- Vehicle registration card
- Life insurance policy (at least 1 year old)
- Check book or savings book
- Traffic ticket (prior to court hearing)
- School identification card with photo
- V.A. (Veterans Affairs) medical card
- U.S. issued consulate identification card

MARRIAGE LICENSES

One form of ID is required if submitting one of the following IDs:

- State drivers license
- State issued identification
- U.S. passport or foreign passport (Must be readable, must have issue and expiration dates.)
- U.S. Armed Forces identification card
- Matricula Consular
- Permanent Resident Card

MARRIAGE CERTIFICATE requirements are the same as for MARRIAGE LICENCES

If under age 18 please call: 630-232-5950

ELECTIONS DEPARTMENT

GENERAL & CONSOLIDATED ELECTIONS

BE PREPARED! REGISTER TO VOTE

A person can register to vote by mail or in person. You must provide 2 acceptable forms of ID when registering. Registering by mail requires the completion of the mail in registration form provided on the Kane County Clerk's web page and two acceptable forms of ID.

Information on Acceptable forms of ID's (Public Act 83-0258) can be found on our website, www.kanecountyelections.org .

To be eligible to vote you must be a US citizen, 18 years old by the next election, and have resided in the precinct for 30 days prior to the next election.

Voters who have changed their name since registering to vote must re-register to vote. Grace Period registration is for persons who missed the deadline to register to vote. During Grace Period registration you may register to vote at the Kane County Clerk's office from the 27th day through the 3rd day prior to the election. If you register to vote during grace period and want to vote in the upcoming election, you MUST VOTE at the time of registration.

Important Dates for the General Primary, March 15, 2016

Please note: The Kane County Clerk's Office will be closed on $12/24^{th}$ at noon, all day $12/25^{th}$ 12/31 at noon and all day 1/1/2016

Last Day to Register To Vote: Tuesday, February 16, 2016

Grace Period Registration & Voting: (These dates **ONLY** at Kane County Elections Main Office)

Wednesday, February 17 through Monday, March 15, 2016

Extended Grace Period Registration & Voting: (At Early Voting and Election Day Polling Places)

Monday, February 29 through Tuesday, March 15, 2016

Early Voting Period: (These dates **ONLY** at Kane County Elections Main Office)

Thursday, February 4 through Monday, Mar 14, 2016

Early Voting Period: (At Designated Early Voting Polling Places)

Monday, Feb. 29 through Monday, Mar 14, 2016

Request Vote By Mail Ballot: Wednesday, December 16, 2015

Issue Vote By Mail Ballot for Military /Overseas: Friday, January 29 through Monday, March 8, 2016

For All other Vote By Mail: Thursday, February 4 through Thursday, March 10, 2016

For more detailed information, go to our website: www.kanecountyelections.org